October 1, 2017
Time: 4 pm
Venue: Engholm Church
Address: Engholm Kirkevej 1, 3450 Allerød
Country: DK
Phone: +45 48 10 58 10


Eirik Moland: Contacts from Galaxies – for Guitar Quartet (2016)
Svend Aaquist: Glasperlenspiel (2017)
Bo Andersen: Vier Erinnerungen – für vier Gitarren (2017)                                                                     Michael Bønsdorf: Toccata piccola around the note G (2017)
Michael Schelle: Bury the hatchet (2016)

Corona Guitar Kvartet – Tour of Denmark 2017/18                                                                                       In 2017-18, Corona Guitar Kvartet will be making a tour of Denmark. There will be eight concerts in all, with brand new material. We will be playing thirteen works (eleven by Danes, two by foreigners); twelve of them will be world premieres. We will also be playing an old favourite, John Frandsen’s Three Dances from 1994, which first appeared on our second album, Northpoints (03); this piece has attained classic status and we very much look forward to playing it again.

The composers are: Peter Bruun, Bo Gunge, Bo Andersen, Lars Klit, Svend Aaquist, Karl Petersen, Michael Bønsdorf, Roland Haraldsson, John Frandsen, Eirik Moland, Niels Mølgård, Alexander Wagendristel (Austria) and Michael Schelle (USA).

We consider all of these to be very exciting composers with widely different approaches. Some are experienced composers – heavyweights in Danish music – others are up-and-coming, often with an impressive list of credits as performing musicians.

Our tour goes to:

Aalborg / Nørresundby – NUT
Hjørring – New Music
Allerød – Engholm Church
Farum – Stavnsholt Church
Hårlev (Køge) – Himlingøje Church
Ribe Sct. Catharinæ Church
Helsingør – Sct. Olai Church
Høng – Finderup Church.

We are committed to presenting the music to a young audience. We will be arranging pre-concert talks where one or more of the composers will talk about some of the pieces we will be presenting.

The tour is supported by: The Augustinus Fund, Knud Højgaards Fund, The Danish Composer’s Association, The Danish Arts Foundation, and Solistforeningen af 1921.